Statistical Machine Learning: Spring 2017

Machine Learning 10-702
(cross-listed as Statistics 36-702)

Instructors:
Ryan Tibshirani (ryantibs at stat dot cmu dot edu)
Larry Wasserman (larry at stat dot cmu dot edu)

TAs:
Jisu Kim (jisuk1 at andrew at cmu at edu)
Eric Lei (elei at cs dot cmu dot edu)
Petar Stojanov (pstojano at cs dot cmu dot edu)
Yining Wang (yiningwa at cs dot cmu dot edu)

Lecture times: Tuesdays and Thursdays 1:30-2:50pm, Hamerschlag Hall B103

Office hours:
RT: Tuesdays 3-4pm, Baker 229B
LW: Tuesdays 12-1pm, Baker 132F
JK: Fridays 10-11am, Baker 132M
EL: Wednesdays 1:30-2:30pm, Gates 8013
PS: Wednesdays 3:30-4:30pm, Gates 8129
YW: Thursdays 3-4pm, Gates 8021

Syllabus: here. Discussions: Piazza group.


Go to:   Schedule | Assignments | Miscellaneous

Schedule

Here is the estimated class schedule. It is subject to change, depending on time and class interests.

Tues Jan 17 L Linear regression Notes, video
Thurs Jan 19 L Linear classification Notes, video, cool plot,
Tues Jan 24 R Nonparametric regression Notes, video
Thurs Jan 26 R Nonparametric regression Notes, video
Tues Jan 31 R Nonparametric regression Notes, video
Thurs Feb 2 R Nonparametric classification Notes, video Hw 1 due Fri Feb 3
Tues Feb 7 L Reproducing kernel Hilbert spaces Notes, video
Thurs Feb 9 L Density estimation Notes, video
Tues Feb 14 L Clustering Notes, video
Thurs Feb 16 L Clustering Notes, video Project milestone 1 due Fri Feb 17
Tues Feb 21 L Clustering Notes, video
Thurs Feb 23 L High-dimensional testing Notes, video
Tues Feb 28 L Concentration of measure Notes, video
Thurs Mar 2 L Concentration of measure Notes, video Hw 2 due Fri Mar 3
Tues Mar 7 - Midterm
Thurs Mar 9 - Spring break (no class)
Tues Mar 14 - Spring break (no class)
Thurs Mar 16 - Spring break (no class)
Tues Mar 21 L Minimax theory Notes, video
Thurs Mar 23 L Minimax theory Notes, video
Tues Mar 28 R Sparsity and the lasso
Thurs Mar 30 R Sparsity and the lasso Hw 3 due Fri Mar 31
Tues Apr 4 R Sparsity and the lasso
Thurs Apr 6 R Sparsity and the lasso Project milestone 2 due Fri Apr 7
Tues Apr 11 L Graphical models
Thurs Apr 13 L Graphical models
Tues Apr 18 R Advanced topic
Thurs Apr 20 - Spring Carnival (no class) Hw 4 due Fri Apr 21
Tues Apr 25 R Advanced topic
Thurs Apr 27 R Advanced topic
Tues May 2 - Course conference
Thurs May 4 - Course conference Project writeup due Fri May 5

Top

Assignments

All assignments are to be turned in outside of Yining Wang's office, Gates 8021, by 3:00pm. Top

Miscellaneous

Some review aids: Top